Textractor can work on emulator but…

Textractor is pretty nice tool to extract and automatically MTL (only google translate works, Bing and DeepL extensions didn’t work in my version) texts from Japanese games in real time.

So it also seems to work on visual novels on emulators. I tried textractor search hook, it works on some games (I use specific text, but the same should also do for brute force search), such as Zill O’ll Infinite Plus on PPSSPP.

However, there’s horrible case of JRPG (such as agarest mariage on PPSSPP, and probably summon night 5), during ADV session, it actually need multiple hooks for EACH adv box AND each line. e.g

taken from agarest mariage intro

=========

Falcia:
はぁ、はぁ、はぁ‥‥‥っ!
(empty line)
Ha..ha…ha!
(empty line)

Rain:
だいじょうぶか、ファルシア?
(empty line)
Are you okay, Falcia?
(empty line)

Falcia:
だいじょうぶ‥‥‥っ、ですっ!
はぁっ、はっ、はぁ‥‥‥っ
I’m alright….desu!
ha, ha, ha….

Rain:
(強がっちゃいるけど、どう見ても走るのは
限界だ。だったら‥‥‥)
(Trying to be strong but, no matter how you look at running is
at limit. Then……… )

Rain:
ここで迎え撃つ! どのみち、いつまでも逃げ
きれるような相手じゃなさそうだしな
We will intercept it here! Either way,
it’s not a foe that we can keep running away from after all

===========

Above is a conversation in a single ADV “scene”/”session” (If you know VN I hope you understand what I mean). You need hook for EACH LINES above (one ADV box in agarest mariage has up to 2 lines). So for above (excerpt) scene, you need 8 hooks corresponding to 8 different lines.

For better or worse, those hooks are reused when you enter different “scene” though. So after collecting hooks, you use thread link extension to collect all the hooks into a single hook/thread. Though since 2nd lines of the first two adv boxes are empty, so you have to find the hooks for them later (5 boxes = 10 lines = 10 hooks).

It’s kind of pain in the butt if you are that determined, it’s doable.


Ah also, sorry for stopped translating. At first I got hooked playing ROTK13 for several months (it’s addictive if you like to play as three kingdom general NOT state), but then after bored with it I didn’t feel like translating and write my own original webnovel instead LOL.

https://www.scribblehub.com/series/647747/ankledeep-into-the-dungeon/

It’s basically dungeon crawling litrpg slice-of-life inspired from “S*ave Harem in Another World Labyrinth” web/light novel. I even learnt to draw a bit, though many of the arts inside are traced from AI arts or other artists arts. There was one where I think I “properly” drew it though, only tracing from CSP 3D base model to form the rough figure which further stylized:

Also, as for translating school otomege again… I might consider it if there’s demand maybe. But you shouldn’t count on me. I’m hikineet but there’s pressure to stop being one.


Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started